Becky Bakewell

Be happy, eat cake!

I just LOVE my cups!

I tend to spend some of my spare time dreaming up what to bake next and often find myself looking at my favourite baking blogs for inspiration! The wonderful Love and Olive Oil, Sprinkle Bakes, Ericas Sweet Tooth, Bakingdom to name a few…

The only thing is… these wonderful American bakers use ‘cups’ to measure their ingredients, and I just don’t get it!

What the hell is a cup? How much is a cup!!!!?? HELP!

Well, I knew that in order to fulfill my fantasies of baking some of their wonderful treats,, it was time to get my hands on the necessary equipment, and I have finally invested in a selection of colourful cups. Oh yes… I can now finally make all the gorgeous recipes that my online baking idols have tormented me with, leaving behind the fear of getting the ratio of ingredients wrong. Wooo!

I wasn’t sure what type of measuring cup/cups to get. Although I LOVED the look of this retro one which I saw in John Lewis and online on Amazon, it looks a bit flimsy and fiddly to use and clean properly in the joins, and apparently it rusts quickly.

I spotted these lovely cups by ColourWorks in Lakeland for about a fiver! I love how vibrant and happy they look, I’m looking forward to using them for the first time, and imagine they will be really simple to use.

There are four, ranging from 1 cup, 1/2 cup, 1/4 cup and 1/8 cup measurement sizes. These feel sturdy and good quality, I won’t need to worry about snapping the handle with the weight of ingredients at all, plus they stack together neatly and are looped to keep them together and so they can be hung up!

I will keep you updated with cup adventures and may try and convert my cup measurements to grams as I go for future reference!

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on March 29, 2012 by in Kitchen Commentary and tagged , , , .
