Becky Bakewell

Be happy, eat cake!

Mint Choc Chip Cupcakes

So I’ve had it in mind to make these for weeks now and am soooo pleased to finally have tried them. They’re a bit out of the ordinary but really yummy!

The idea came from seeing a green cupcake at my boyfriends house the other day. He thought it was mint flavour, but when I took a bite I was intrigued to discover that it was in fact pistachio flavour!

It occured to me what an unusual and interesting flavour it was… And then I thought, what if it had been mint? What would that have been like!?? I’ve never seen those done before! Oh god! I want to make green cakes!

After many Google searches I found nothing that matched the idea I had in mind… Soft minty green cupcakes with chocolate chips…

I discovered quite a few people who offered recipes for chocolate cupcakes with a little mint esscense, but nothing that took the concept of the classic green ‘mint choc chip’ ice cream to cake.

I started to wonder whether perhaps they just don’t work… Does mint and cake really go together after all? Well, I just had to try it to find out!

The frosting mimics the look and texture of mint choc chip ice cream in the smooth round shape, and with tiny pieces of ground 85% coco chocolate.

It’s seriously yummy, although, in shape, admittedly a bit… turdy looking.

However! This was infact my first EVER piping experience! It was really fun to play around with and I cant wait to try new styles of frosting and piping!

Ingredients (makes about 36 cupcakes):

225g self raising flour
225g butter
225g caster sugar
4 eggs
60g plain choc chips
3 tbsp peppermint flavouring
2 tbsp green food colouring
1 tsp vanilla essence

Frosting Ingredients (for 36 cupcakes)

250g butter
500g icing sugar
50g finely chopped dark chocolate
2 tbsp peppermint flavour
1-2 tbsp green food colouring
1 tsp vanilla essence

Method

1. Preheat oven to 180°C and line your cupcake tray with cases

2. Cream the butter and sugar together until fully incorporated

3. In another bowl, crack the eggs, and add the flavourings and colour. Use a fork to break up the eggs.

3. Slowly add the egg mixture to the creamed butter and sugar, adding a tablespoon at a time and mixing in. If you think it might curdle, sieve in a tablespoon of flour and continue to add the egg.

4. When all the egg mixture is incorporated, sieve in the rest of the flour. Gently fold it into the mixture.

5. Dollop an even amount of the mixture into each case and bake in the oven for 25 minutes.

Frosting Method

1. Very finely chop) the dark chocolate into tiny tiny pieces and leave to one side

1. Beat the butter in a medium size bowl until creamy.

2. Sift in the icing sugar bit by bit, stirring in to the butter.

3. Add in your ground chocolate, peppermint flavouring and green food dye and fully mix that all in.

You could either spoon this onto your cupcakes and make it look all round like an ice cream scoop, or pipe it on like I did or in any style you fancy!

11 comments on “Mint Choc Chip Cupcakes

  1. Mathurini
    May 3, 2012

    I love these! Chocolate chip and mint it’s like an After Eight cupcake!

  2. Pat
    May 3, 2012

    I had two of these at work with my afternoon coffee (best with coffee, not tea I think)
    and they were amazing! It was like an Aero bar but in a cake.
    I thought someone must have done this before but it seems not.
    Well done Becky Bakewell on what appears to be a first.

  3. “Out of the ordinary” is a good thing! Great idea – they look amazing 🙂

  4. Pingback: Mint Choc Chip Cupcakes « The Cupcake Blog

  5. Pingback: Mint Choc Chip Cupcakes | The art of cupcake

  6. Pingback: Mint Choc Chip Cupcakes — Cupcake Pictures

  7. Sair
    August 28, 2012

    The best Icing I have ever tasted and seen in my whole life. Everything about the icing was without a doubt brilliant. You need to teach me how to do that!! Sara Denzer 🙂

    • Becky Bakewell
      August 29, 2012

      Ooh thank you Sara, I love it too – my favourite buttercream! xx

  8. Reenie
    October 21, 2012

    Thank you for this, I made some the other day and they were delicious!!

  9. Pingback: Mint Choc Chip Cupcakes | The art of cupcake

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on May 3, 2012 by in Cupcakes and tagged , , , , , , , , , .
